LMC Band?

Social events: drinks, curries, slide-shows, lectures etc.
music sarah

LMC Band?

Post by music sarah »

Hi everyone!

There has been a suggestion that I could co-ordinate an LMC Band. As you can probably guess from my user name, I'm a Music Teacher. :D
This is really just an initial post to see if there is any interest and if we have enough musicians in the club to support a band. It would be quite a relaxed affair and we couldn't start any rehearsals until restrictions are eased a bit.

There have been bands in the LMC in the past which have played at various events which we might consider if/when we're ready.

If this is something you might be interested in, please could you reply to this thread with:

1-Name (if different to username)

2-Instrument

3-Ability level- this can be grades/how long played/number of notes known/ the hardest song you know etc, whatever your measure is. Be honest please, you don't want me to give you a 3 note part if it sends you to sleep! :lol:

4-Whether you read notation/tab/chord symbols or play by ear- Sounds like a boring factoid but very useful for me if I'm arranging stuff.

5-If you've any preferred styles.

I'm now preparing myself for 500 posts about people playing the maracas in the manner of Bez.
SarahS
Active Site Member

Re: LMC Band?

Post by SarahS »

This is a fab idea! I can play the guitar and drums very badly...as in I've not played in about 10 years. So probably no good to you. :lol: I am sure there are some much more musical people about...
music sarah

Post by music sarah »

I'm sure we can do something with guitar and drums Sarah. Are you electric or acoustic?
SarahS
Active Site Member

Post by SarahS »

Both! Just thinking I can do vocals if you can't find anyone more talented :lol:
Luke J

Post by Luke J »

I'm up for a jam or something. In answer to your questions.

I play bass guitar and piano/keys.

Been playing both for years (not professionally!)